Estonia - Emphasis - Getting Bitchy

from by Global Metal Apocalypse

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      £1 GBP  or more



Emphasis is a Progressive Metal act from Estonia formed in 2010. The music of Emphasis is a synthesis of powerful classical harmonies, expressive heavy guitar riffs, unique rhytmic traditions and delicate melodic sequences.

In 2011 Sergei Struts (drums) and singer Anet Vaikmaa joined the founding members Pavel Korotaev (guitar), Katya Gritskova (bass) and Vsevolod Chelepeace (keyboards). The first single "Death Itself" was released in December 2011. After that the band decided to flesh out their live sound with the addition of a second guitarist, completing their current line-up when Max Spiridonov joined in the beginning of 2012. The five-track EP "Into Infinity" was released in November 2012, and premiered at the Estonian rock radio station Raadio Mania. The album received positive reviews over Europe, Russia and Latin America. Their first mini-tour in support of "Into Infinity" took place in the Baltic States, sharing the stage with Arkona (Rus) at one of their shows in Riga.

In 2013 Emphasis became a member of Tallinn Music Week Showcase festival and Hard Rock Laager Open-Air Festival with the participation of great metal masters such as Testament, Aborted, Marduk, Evoken, Skyforger, etc. In the spring they released their second single “Every Time”. In summer 2013 Anet Vaikmaa left the band due to personal reasons. In Autumn 2013 the amazing opera singer Anna “Roxanna” Ganina became the new Emphasis front-woman. With her arrival, the style of Emphasis became more symphonic and live-shows are full of drive and wild expression. In September 2013 they released the second single “Hopeless”. A little bit later the renewed band went back to the road across the Baltic States and Finland together with the Finnish Dark Metal band Teardown.


Anna "Roxanna" Ganina - vocals
Pavel Korotaev - guitars
Max Spiridonov - guitars
Katya Gritskova - bass
Sergei Struts - drums
Vsevolod "Mr.VST" Chelepeace - keys

Please consider a donation, funds raised will be going to the Animal Health Trust.


from Arctic Blast, released November 13, 2015




Global Metal Apocalypse Wickford, UK

Global Metal Apocalypse is an international music website dedicated to discovering, promoting and exposing bands and artists from all corners of the globe.

contact / help

Contact Global Metal Apocalypse

Streaming and
Download help